First Snow

I knew this day was bound to happen. I was as prepared as a girlfriend of a meteorologist could be (meaning, he talks about weather all the time, so I was very prepared), but waking up yesterday morning to whiteness was still a surprise. However, it was a pleasant surprise. Normally, snow makes me crabby and cold but I was rather excited to see snow (probably because I’ve been shamefully listening to Christmas music since Nov. 1 – don’t judge).

It was so cute when we introduced Gracie to the snow. She didn’t know what to do at first, but now she loves it!


I haven’t posted a recipe this week because we’ve been making some routine meals. Last night I made Pioneer Woman‘s Grilled Chicken and Lemon Basil Pasta. I followed the exact recipe, except I used two lemons instead of three (I’m on a budget and lemons are damn expensive). You can find the recipe here – I highly recommend it!

Tonight we stuck with our Mexican-food-at-every-other-meal theme. We made shrimp quesadillas and of course, avocado ranch dressing. And you guessed it – Kevin called them “shrimpies!”

Tomorrow night we’re making baked potato soup, so I’ll post that recipe!


Gracie hasn’t been feeling too hot. She has an upset tummy (yes, we say tummy like we’re real parents) and has been acting really lethargic. We took her to the vet for a routine check-up and shots, and the vet didn’t seem too concerned. She gave us some parasite medicine and said it should help over the next few days. Hopefully she gets back to her running, jumping, biting, yelping, puppy-self soon! I kind of miss the craziness (this comment will haunt me Saturday morning when I want to sleep in). :)

Thirty Days of Thanks

Since I posted my first Thirty Days of Thanks photographs on Monday, I’ll post Day 2, Day 3 and Day 4 today. I’ll try to be a bit more serious and stay away from my nacho obsession¬†this time around.

Day 2 – Smile. I get the biggest smile on my face when I walk in the door and see her running towards the door at me. I just can’t help but pick her up! Kevin captured this moment today when I got home. Smile, Gracie!

Day 3 – Happiness. I got frozen yogurt for the first time at a “fro yo” shop (Orange Leaf). It. was. amazing. I didn’t even know such places exist (where I am even from?!). I put brownie batter, wedding cake and red velvet fro yo in my cup. Then, I filled it with granola, chocolate chips, cookie dough, and strawberries. I don’t think I could have made a better tasting fro yo cup – it made me so incredibly happy.

Day 4 – Leaves. Gracie loooooves to bring in leaves from outside. In fact, she thoroughly enjoys eating them. I captured the first picture today when I caught her munching on a leaf. I also had to add an extra picture (the second one) of a beautiful tree right outside our place. The foliage on this tree was unbelievably beautiful.

“Thanks so much for all the expensive toys you bought me, mom and dad. I really do love looking at them while I eat my leaf.”¬†

Alrighty, gotta get back to my Blues game and GREY’S ANATOMY tonight!

Leave a Reply

