No Pierogies in Iowa

I made a very sad discovery today. People in Iowa do not know what Pierogies are. They’re basically one of the best foods ever – I could eat a pierogi every day. It’s a delicious Polish potatoey, doughy, cheesy, oniony thing. Just look here if you want to know what a pierogi is, don’t ask me because I’ll be upset that you don’t know (only kidding).

Even though there aren’t frozen, pre-made pierogies in Iowa, there are tons of other food that is awesomely unhealthy. I’m talking about the Iowa State Fair people! Apparently, it’s a huge deal. Not going to lie, I didn’t even know states had state fairs until I moved here. Missouri has a state fair, too? Never knew. Well, Iowa State Fair is a big deal and since they’re one of Trilix’s clients, I got some free tickets. Thanks, team! (Let me back up real quick, Rachel E. visited us this past Saturday and Sunday and since she’s an Iowan, we decided to take her to the fair.) It was really fun, but it was crowded and I was so confused as to what I was supposed to do while I was there. So, we walked around and ate…a lot.

First up? The biggest animal I’ve ever seen in real life. Size. of. a. whale. It promptly stood up and you know, did its business, as we were about to take a picture. Snapped and ran!

There is a building devoted to people’s crops and produce. Look at all that amazing food! I really wanted to grocery shop, but I figured that wasn’t allowed.

Umm…I think it is safe to say I freaked out WAY too much when I saw the Budweiser clydesdales. It just reminds me of St. Louis and it made me SO happy to see them!

Now for the food. I didn’t take a picture of all the things we got, but I took a picture of my massive nacho meal. Seriously, delicious. I did NOT try the fried butter. No way, gross. However, I got a small big bag of mini donuts which I’ve been enjoying for breakfast every day since the fair. Yummmmmm.

Last, but not least, we saw the butter cow! Literally, a cow made from butter. And, it’s the 100 year anniversary, so the line to see it was incredibly long. We opted to skip the line and just hold our cameras up high for a quick picture. Oops…

Rachel and I had a lot of fun this weekend! When she got here on Saturday, we went to my new favorite Mexican restaurant, Mi Mexico. The margaritas are to die for! Soooooo delicious. They even come in a cool shaker so your giant margarita stays nice and cold. The food is also wonderful, but we really went for the margs (naturally).

Rachel wasn’t our only visitor this week! Moffitt came to visit on Thursday, but I worked, so Kevin entertained. Pretty sure they drank and played video games and watched sports. Sounds about right!

We love having visitors! If you are driving through the area or want a “vacation,” just come on by!

Switching subjects (again)…If you know me, you know I’m a huge news buff. I love reading the paper and I always have tweet deck on, which is where I get a lot of my news information. I always find things throughout the day that I want to share with people, but I don’t want to put it all on Facebook or Twitter and flood your streams, so I usually just email Kevin and he reads ignores them. Anyways, I’ll just post a few things I found today that are interesting:

1. Umm…Ryan Seacrest may replace Matt Lauer on the Today Show? I will not watch if that happens.

2. ABC is hosting a daily blog titled, “While America Slept: The True Story of 9/11.” 9/11 is something I think about often and not because I am from New York, know a lot of people in the military, or lost someone close in the tragedy. I think about it a lot because America is my country and I am a proud citizen. I still can’t believe 9/11 happened to us and I think its important to remember the lives lost because of terrorism. ABC’s blog is unique and I’m not exactly sure how I feel about it. I don’t know how accurate it is either, but it is an interesting read and I’m going to keep reading leading up to the 10 year anniversary of 9/11. (Side note for you media-loving peeps: AP Stylebook is releasing a 9/11 edition).

3. My favorite blogger, Iowa Girl Eats, has this AMAZING cinnamon roll recipe that I am going to make this week. Stay tuned!

Since I’m obsessed with the news, leave a comment and a link about something interesting you read or heard about today!

2 thoughts on “No Pierogies in Iowa

Leave a Reply

